Teen Titans Go To The Movies

Say what you will about Teen Titans Go but this show has proven to be hilarious in all the right ways and this film basically picks up from there. From beginning to end this movie it down right hilarious from the typical jokes that you've come to see from the characters to subtle jokes that will have you dying from laughter. This movie is fun for everyone. Definitely check it out.

3BG rating: 8 out of 10

maxresdefault.jpg

Click here to subscribe to our show on Itunes!!!

Be sure to subscribe to the new feed for recaps and discussions here

You can also check us out on Stitcher Radio

We're also on SoundCloud and now IHeartRadio so now you have other options to listen to the show

Be sure to hit us up with those 5 star reviews on itunes

Posted on July 26, 2018 .

Blindspotting

A very relatable film that shows a man dealing with the last 3 days of his parole and the shenanigans that ensues. Very powerful film with a message and a must see. Check it out.

3BG rating: 9 out of 10

blind.jpg

Click here to subscribe to our show on Itunes!!!

Be sure to subscribe to the new feed for recaps and discussions here

You can also check us out on Stitcher Radio

We're also on SoundCloud and now IHeartRadio so now you have other options to listen to the show

Be sure to hit us up with those 5 star reviews on itunes

Posted on July 20, 2018 .

AntMan and the Wasp

So Infinity War ended on very much a downer note and as expected Antman and the Wasp comes in and provides a much needed levity for the audience. You ended up getting a very entertaining, fun, and endearing film that at the core is about family which seems to be the running theme lately. Great visuals, fun and simple plot, and lots of added MCU world building lore.

3BG rating: 9 out of 10

Ant-Man-and-the-Wasp-art-1.jpg

Click here to subscribe to our show on Itunes!!!

Be sure to subscribe to the new feed for recaps and discussions here

You can also check us out on Stitcher Radio

We're also on SoundCloud and now IHeartRadio so now you have other options to listen to the show

Be sure to hit us up with those 5 star reviews on itunes

Posted on July 5, 2018 .

The First Purge

The First Purge is a film where while your mileage is gonna vary on the over the top nature of the way the story goes at the same time if you're a fan of the Purge franchise the movie is very much a welcomed addition these films and as expected the origins of how the purge started is what you expected it to be. While the dialogue will be eye roll worthy at time and the action is hit and miss, overall the over the top nature of this film will keep you entertained.

3BG rating:

CJ - 7 out of 10

Dee - 5 out of 10

firstpurge.jpg

Click here to subscribe to our show on Itunes!!!

Be sure to subscribe to the new feed for recaps and discussions here

You can also check us out on Stitcher Radio

We're also on SoundCloud and now IHeartRadio so now you have other options to listen to the show

Be sure to hit us up with those 5 star reviews on itunes

Posted on July 4, 2018 .

Jurassic World Fallen Kingdom

So with these Jurassic Park films the emphasis was always on 1. The allure of seeing dinosaurs in action and 2. The consequences of man trying to bring the dinosaurs back and use them in some sort of capacity. The problems with Fallen Kingdom lie in the fact that it dumbs down everything and flounders some interesting concepts in the process. Sure you get some great moments with the dinosaurs but the movie overall was just pretentious as hell. 

3BG Rating: 4 out of 10

jw.jpeg

Click here to subscribe to our show on Itunes!!!

Be sure to subscribe to the new feed for recaps and discussions here

You can also check us out on Stitcher Radio

We're also on SoundCloud and now IHeartRadio so now you have other options to listen to the show

Be sure to hit us up with those 5 star reviews on itunes

Posted on June 20, 2018 .

Superfly(2018)

The original 1972 Superfly is a classic blaxploitation film that shows the struggle of a drug dealer trying to get out the game and start a new life. The remake follows this same storyline but what you end up with is a film that lacks any of the stakes and gravity the original movie had and plays things very safe. While Jason Mitchell does a pretty good job as Eddie, its Trevor Jackson as Youngblood Priest thats very hit and miss. Michael K. Williams as Priests mentor, Scatter, does his thing as does Esai Morales as the durg supplier Gonzalez. Factor that on top of the execution of the storyline and the film ends up being very mediocre cause of it.

3BG rating: 5 out of 10

superfly-2018.jpg

Be sure to subscribe to both of our feeds on Itunes and any other podcast app.

Got questions and/or comments? Hit us up at 3blackgeeks@gmail.com

Posted on June 12, 2018 .

The Incredibles 2

Incredibles 2 was one of the most asked about movies sequels out of Pixar's films. I mean we got a video game sequel but it honestly wasn't the same. So here we are in 2018 and we finally got the sequel and it definitely lives up to the hype and anticipation. The greatest strength of the film is that it does a great job of continuing where the last film left off without missing a beat. Through this we get a great story, great action, and all around great worldbuilding for another possible sequel.

3BG rating: 9 out of 10

Site: www.3blackgeeks.com 
Facebook: www.facebook.com/3blackgeeks

Be sure to subscribe to both of our feeds on Itunes and any other podcast app.

Got questions and/or comments? Hit us up at 3blackgeeks@gmail.com

Incredibles-2-Poster-Art-D23.jpg
Posted on June 11, 2018 .

Hotel Artemis

So Hotel Artemis is an aight movie. The cast is all around great and the premise is interesting particularly when it comes to all the characters motivations colliding. The problem is that despite these things, the 3rd act of the film drops the ball a little bit particularly when it comes to an established plot point from earlier in the film. Not a bad thing per se but your mileage will vary depending on what you as a viewer was expecting.

3BG rating: 7 out of 10

Site: www.3blackgeeks.com 
Facebook: www.facebook.com/3blackgeeks 

Be sure to subscribe to both of our feeds on Itunes and any other podcast app.

Got questions and/or comments? Hit us up at 3blackgeeks@gmail.com

hotelartemisheader.jpg
Posted on June 7, 2018 .

Ocean's 8

Much like the Ghostbusters reboot, Ocean's 8 had its work cut out for it. What we were presented initially was basically a woman's version of the Ocean's movies. What Ocean's 8 ends up being is a spinoff movie that continues the fun, heist shenanigans that the Ocean's movies have been. It isn't trying to the reinvent the wheel and that's fine. The cast works really well together and the movie flows real well because of it. Overall its a very enjoyable film and a welcome addition to the franchise.

3BG rating: 8 out of 10

Site: www.3blackgeeks.com 
Facebook: www.facebook.com/3blackgeeks 

Be sure to subscribe to both of our feeds on Itunes and any other podcast app.

Got questions and/or comments? Hit us up at 3blackgeeks@gmail.com

 

 

p0699wbl.jpg
Posted on June 6, 2018 .

Upgrade

Upgrade is the latest movie from Blumhouse Productions and Writer/Director Leigh Whannell. This is a very simple B-Movie sci-fi film in the vein of Robocop with a small dash of 2001 A Space Odyssey. It does it job in telling a standard story you've seen before and while you probably will see the twist of this movie coming as you watch it, it ultimately doesn't take away the enjoyment of this film overall. Logan Marshall Green does a good job acting wise, the action is pretty good, and the visuals work in showing this very realistic future.

3BG rating: 7 out of 10.

Site: www.3blackgeeks.com 
Facebook: www.facebook.com/3blackgeeks 

Be sure to subscribe to both of our feeds on Itunes and any other podcast app.

Got questions and/or comments? Hit us up at 3blackgeeks@gmail.com

upgrade-movie-poster.jpg
Posted on June 1, 2018 .

Solo- A Star Wars Story

Another side story Star Wars movie is upon us and this time its focused on the early days of Han Solo. Early on when this film was announced, there was big time skepticism on whether this film could work. Well worry no more cause Disney has done it again. What we have is a well crafted story that elaborates on the lore of the Star Wars Universe with Han Solo's adventures spliced in for good measure. You feel invested in all the characters and what happens to them and the action is pretty good. Definitely a must watch.

3BG Rating: 8 out of 10

Site: www.3blackgeeks.com 
Facebook: www.facebook.com/3blackgeeks 
Twitter: @3BlackGeeks @DeeTheBlackGeek

Be sure to subscribe to both of our feeds on Itunes and any other podcast app.

Got questions and/or comments? Hit us up at 3blackgeeks@gmail.com

Solo-Star-Wars-Story-Poster-Cropped.jpg
Posted on May 15, 2018 .

Deadpool 2

*LIGHT SPOILER*

Deadpool 2 had lots of expectations to live up to. For starters, the first film surprised everyone with how great it was and the box office showed. With this sequel the up the ante across the board and the movie ends up being alot of fun for it. Once again this film ends up doing justice to the X-men than what the franchise films have done over the years. So yeah go watch this movie...Its worth the time and money.

3BG Rating- 8 out of 10

Deadpool2.jpg

Click here to subscribe to our show on Itunes!!!

Be sure to subscribe to the new feed for recaps and discussions here

You can also check us out on Stitcher Radio

We're also on SoundCloud and now IHeartRadio so now you have other options to listen to the show

Be sure to hit us up with those 5 star reviews on itunes

Posted on May 14, 2018 .

Avengers Infinity War

10 years....I don't think anyone saw the MCU going for 10 years and here we are as Avengers Infinity War is upon us. This movie is across the board full of greatness. This movie manages to balance each and every character and they all matter...Yes even the bad guys. Just take your behind to the theater and see it. You won't regret it.

3BG rating: 9.8 out of 10

InfinityWar1.jpg

Click here to subscribe to our show on Itunes!!!

Be sure to subscribe to the new feed for recaps and discussions here

You can also check us out on Stitcher Radio

We're also on SoundCloud and now IHeartRadio so now you have other options to listen to the show

Be sure to hit us up with those 5 star reviews on itunes

Posted on April 25, 2018 .

Super Troopers 2

Super Troopers 2 continues the shenanigans of the Broken Lizard's first film. The movie is silly from start to finish and at least for us your mileage may vary on the jokes even though real talk we got lots of laughs from this film so it is what it is. Overall you may come away enjoying this film.

3BG rating: 7 out of 10

Site: www.3blackgeeks.com 
Facebook: www.facebook.com/3blackgeeks 
Twitter: @3BlackGeeks @DeeTheBlackGeek

Be sure to subscribe to both of our feeds on Itunes and any other podcast app.

Got questions and/or comments? Hit us up at 3blackgeeks@gmail.com

super_troopers_two.jpg
Posted on April 19, 2018 .

Rampage

From the first trailer you pretty much had a good idea of what Rampage was gonna be and you know what? It works for this film. The movie is in a long line of films that are in the "So bad its good" category. The film knows what it is and doesn't pretend to be serious at no point. Hell we even get Jeffrey Dean Morgan basically acting like he just got off the set of The Walking Dead and still in his persona as Negan. The movie is just ridiculously fun so yeah you'll get some enjoyment out of it.

3BG rating: 5 out of 10

Rampage-Movie-Poster.jpg
Posted on April 10, 2018 .

Blockers

Blockers is one of those movies you've seen before involving overbearing parents and their kids. The film overall has its funny moments and ultimately is just 'ok'. Not a bad film by any means but at most you can definitely see some teenagers checking this movie out. 

3BG rating: 6 out of 10

8192_5996.jpg
Posted on March 29, 2018 .

Pacific Rim Uprising

Pacific Rim Uprising is a film that leans heavily on the anime tropes and you know what? That's perfectly fine. The movie isn't trying to be whitty and do anything crazy new. It knows what it is and rolls with it. What the film does real well is take the ideas of this world that Del Toro established in the first film and sort of flesh it out and continue it. We get more mech and kaiju insanity and despite some minor issues, the film overall is fun and enjoyable.

3BG rating: 7 out of 10

pacrim.jpg

Click here to subscribe to our show on Itunes!!!

Be sure to subscribe to the new feed for recaps and discussions here

You can also check us out on Stitcher Radio

We're also on SoundCloud and now IHeartRadio so now you have other options to listen to the show

Be sure to hit us up with those 5 star reviews on itunes

Posted on March 21, 2018 .

Hurricane Heist

A movie that falls short and under performs in every category. There is nothing worst than knowing its going to be a bad movie and you're ready for it to be crazy and it gives you nothing. Absolutely nothing to like or ironically love. This was a hard watch. That one scene was great tho.

3BG Rating- 1 out of 10 

the-hurricane-heist-maggie-grace-toby-kebbell.jpg
Posted on March 18, 2018 .

Tomb Raider

Based on the 2013 reboot, Tomb Raider is about Lara Croft is the fiercely independent daughter of an eccentric adventurer who vanished years earlier. Hoping to solve the mystery of her father's disappearance.

3BG Rating- 6 out of 10

7e1f4bb9ea067d4e848af01c5d553b4a.jpg
Posted on March 15, 2018 .

A Wrinkle In Time

So Ava Duvernay's high anticipated big budget film is here and it turns out to be a good watch despite pacing issues and the films 1 hour and 45 minute length. Great visual effects, characters that you care about, and a decent story to boot. Its worth a watch.

3BG Rating- 8 out of 10

a-wrinkle-in-time-poster-oprah-winfrey-411x600.jpg
Posted on March 12, 2018 .