Game Night

So this movie comes from the folks that gave us the Horrible Boss films and also the writers of Spiderman Homecoming and you know what? This film ends up being surprisingly funny with Jesse Plemens being the MVP of it all. It has some plot twists that you don't see coming, the jokes don't linger too long and you get some great acting from the cast. Definitely check this out. 

3BG Rating: 8 out of 10

csm_fw91big_08_5ef789658b.jpg

Click here to subscribe to our show on Itunes!!!

Be sure to subscribe to the new feed for recaps and discussions here

You can also check us out on Stitcher Radio

We're also on SoundCloud and now IHeartRadio so now you have other options to listen to the show

Be sure to hit us up with those 5 star reviews on itunes

Posted on February 23, 2018 .

Annihilation

Legit good sci-fi is hard to come by these days. Lately you either get a sci-fi film that plays on tropes you see in the genre all the time or you get a film that tries too hard and can't execute the themes its going for. Thankfully Annihilation manages to be a fine film that while good in its own right especially when it comes to the storytelling, it may ultimately not be the type of movie for everyone. Fine acting, great visuals, and a decent plot overall.

3BG rating: 6 out of 10

Annihilation.jpg

Click here to subscribe to our show on Itunes!!!

Be sure to subscribe to the new feed for recaps and discussions here

You can also check us out on Stitcher Radio

We're also on SoundCloud and now IHeartRadio so now you have other options to listen to the show

Be sure to hit us up with those 5 star reviews on itunes

Posted on February 21, 2018 .

Black Panther

When you take away all the hype and the excitement, Black Panther ends up being a really good movie. This isn't to say that people shouldn't be excited cause at the end of the day this movie does live up to the hype of what folks more likely wanted out of this film. Great cast, great visuals, and a story that ,while you may have seen it before, is still done very well.

3BG rating: 9 out of 10

lrg.png__650x935_q70.jpg

Click here to subscribe to our show on Itunes!!!

Be sure to subscribe to the new feed for recaps and discussions here

You can also check us out on Stitcher Radio

We're also on SoundCloud and now IHeartRadio so now you have other options to listen to the show

Be sure to hit us up with those 5 star reviews on itunes

Posted on February 14, 2018 .

Fifty Shades Freed

Dee and his wife Angie talk about the final installment of this trilogy. They also talk about the book and the last two movies. So glad it's over.

3BG Rating: 1 out of 10

Click here to subscribe to our show on Itunes!!!

Be sure to subscribe to the new feed for recaps and discussions here

You can also check us out on Stitcher Radio

We're also on SoundCloud and now IHeartRadio so now you have other options to listen to the show

Be sure to hit us up with those 5 star reviews on itunes

Posted on February 13, 2018 .

Proud Mary

One word to describe this movie is "Simple". This movie ends up being great mainly because it isn't trying to reinvent the wheel. It gives you a straightforward plot and straightforward action. Nothing ridiculous. Everybody plays there part well and it makes for an entertaining experience overall.

3BG rating: 6 out of 10

Proud-Mary-Taraji-P.-Henson-Movie-Poster-Cropped.jpg

Click here to subscribe to our show on Itunes!!!

Be sure to subscribe to the new feed for recaps and discussions here

You can also check us out on Stitcher Radio

We're also on SoundCloud and now IHeartRadio so now you have other options to listen to the show

Be sure to hit us up with those 5 star reviews on itunes

Posted on January 12, 2018 .

The Commuter

At this point, if you've seen one Liam Neeson action movie then you've seen them all and The Commuter is no exception. The movie tries to surprise you and yet you see the twists and plot coming a mile away. Normally this isn't a bad thing if the movie is entertaining which while this film is entertaining, the bad outweighs the good. Save your money and catch this flick on cable.

3BG rating: 4 out of 10

the-commuter.jpg

Click here to subscribe to our show on Itunes!!!

Be sure to subscribe to the new feed for recaps and discussions here

You can also check us out on Stitcher Radio

We're also on SoundCloud and now IHeartRadio so now you have other options to listen to the show

Be sure to hit us up with those 5 star reviews on itunes

Posted on January 12, 2018 .

Bright

Bright is a movie that is full of ideas and potential but ends up falling very short due to horrible writing. The movie tries to be everything and can't seem to focus on what it wants to be. Taking all the cues from films like Street Kings, 48 Hours, Alien Nation, Appleseed, Training Day, etc...You name it and this movie tries to be like it. Ultimately Will Smith's charm couldn't save this movie.

3BG rating: 2 out of 5

bright_unit_06597_r_wide-67b1f15cb792c81ccc1359a7e8a2e6c0bce7b718-s900-c85.jpg

Click here to subscribe to our show on Itunes!!!

Be sure to subscribe to the new feed for recaps and discussions here

You can also check us out on Stitcher Radio

We're also on SoundCloud and now IHeartRadio so now you have other options to listen to the show

Be sure to hit us up with those 5 star reviews on itunes

The Last Jedi

The Last Jedi is an interesting movie in that it'll split folks. On one hand for those who felt The Force Awakens was too much of a nostalgia trip, they'll enjoy The Last Jedi for doing some new stuff. On the other hand for those that enjoy those nostalgia moment, they may walk out of this movie just thinking its 'OK'. Ultimately what you have is a good movie that progressed things with some characters and sort of lacked on the others. Either way its an enjoyable movie.

3BG rating: 3.5 out of 5

Last-Jedi-Landscape-Poster-.jpg

Click here to subscribe to our show on Itunes!!!

Be sure to subscribe to the new feed for recaps and discussions here

You can also check us out on Stitcher Radio

We're also on SoundCloud and now IHeartRadio so now you have other options to listen to the show

Be sure to hit us up with those 5 star reviews on itunes

Posted on December 15, 2017 .

Justice League

Since its inception, WB/DC has been trying to kickstart off the DCEU films. Man of Steel started it but Batman V Superman and Suicide Squad soured people on what this movie universe could be. Wonder Woman gave folks hope and now we got Justice League which basically picks up the baton and continues to show what the DCEU can truly be like in the future. Justice League ends up being a pretty good movie that rights the wrongs that BvS did.

3BG rating: 4 out of 5

Justice-League-Movie-Character-Tv-Spots-International.jpg

Click here to subscribe to our show on Itunes!!!

Be sure to subscribe to the new feed for recaps and discussions here

You can also check us out on Stitcher Radio

We're also on SoundCloud and now IHeartRadio so now you have other options to listen to the show

Be sure to hit us up with those 5 star reviews on itunes

Thor Ragnarok

*Light spoilers!!!!*

So Thor Ragnarok is upon us and boy oh boy does this series go out in a huge way. Its no secret that the Thor movies have been the weakest of the MCU films so thankfully Director Taika Waititi manages to give this film some levity and also some lightheartedness. All the characters end up having a moment to shine in some way particularly with Valkyrie and Hulk.  The plot isn't as throwaway as you might think and for what it accomplishes it works especially for that world that Thor inhabits. Overall definitely check out this film...You won't regret it.

3BG rating: 4 out of 5

Thor-Ragnarok-Preview-Behind-Scenes.jpg

Click here to subscribe to our show on Itunes!!!

Be sure to subscribe to the new feed for recaps and discussions here

You can also check us out on Stitcher Radio

We're also on SoundCloud and now IHeartRadio so now you have other options to listen to the show

Be sure to hit us up with those 5 star reviews on itunes

Geostorm

Movies like Geostorm tend to more often than not be films that are in the "so bad its good" category. Unfortunately Geostorm isn't that. What we have is a film that is a basically Dean Devlin reusing stuff that he's done in previous movies like this. The story is lame and predictable, the characters are okay but again they're basically the same characters from Devlin's other works, and the main attraction of this Geostorm weather event ends up being wack as hell.

3BG score: 0 out of 5 

Geostorm-trailer-2-700x300.jpg

Click here to subscribe to our show on Itunes!!!

Be sure to subscribe to the new feed for recaps and discussions here

You can also check us out on Stitcher Radio

We're also on SoundCloud and now IHeartRadio so now you have other options to listen to the show

Be sure to hit us up with those 5 star reviews on itunes

Posted on October 20, 2017 .

Marshall

Marshall is a new film from Reginald Hudlin that pinpoints in on a particular case that Thurgood Marshall was a part of that wasn't his famous Brown vs. Board of Education one. Its a very smart choice by Hudlin to do this because this movie highlights why Thurgood was as good as he was. Solid cast and great acting all around. There were a couple of spots that was shaky but overall a great movie. Originally CJ gave it a 3.5 out of 5 but after thinking it over its definitely worthy a higher score.

3BG rating: 4 out of 5

maxresdefault (4).jpg

Twitter: @DeeTheBlackGeek @3BlackGeeks

Be sure to subscribe to the new feed for tv show recaps and discussions here

Click here to subscribe to our main 3BG show

You can also check us out on Stitcher Radio

We're also on SoundCloud and now IHeartRadio so now you have other options to listen to the show

Be sure to hit us up with those 5 star reviews on itunes

The Foreigner

"Give Me The Names"...Four words which signifies Jackie Chan's character being fed up with the bs served to him. The Foreigner is much in the same vein as Taken and Equalizer in that we have an old actor kicking ass and taking names for the sake of vengeance. This time its Chan doing what he does best. The action is solid, the story is pretty decent and Pierce Brosnan plays his part as the bad guy well enough. 

3BG rating: 4 out of 5

The-Foreigner-CHINA-version-Copy.jpg

Be sure to subscribe to the new feed for tv show recaps and discussions here

Click here to subscribe to our main 3BG show

You can also check us out on Stitcher Radio

We're also on SoundCloud and now IHeartRadio so now you have other options to listen to the show

Be sure to hit us up with those 5 star reviews on itunes

Blade Runner 2049

Most movies that are sequels to a beloved and well known movie tends to be of three categories: Either its really good, really bad, or mediocre as hell. Fortunately Blade Runner 2049 falls into the really good category. What we have is a film that has a solid plot that expands on the first film, really good cinematography, and great acting from everyone. Only hiccup is that its too damn long clocking in at 2 hours and 40 minutes. Not a big deal but just aware of how long you'll be in the theater for this movie.

3BG rating: 4.5 out of 5

BladeRunner.jpg

Click here to subscribe to our show on Itunes!!!

You can also check us out on Stitcher Radio

We're also on SoundCloud and now IHeartRadio so now you have other options to listen to the show

Be sure to hit us up with those 5 star reviews on itunes

Kingsman The Golden Circle

So the much anticipated followup to Kingsman The Secret Service is finally here and it turns out to be a very solid followup with a few hiccups. On one hand the action and story is a wild ride with some twists you'll see coming and others you won't see. On the other hand though, the movie at times feels like its trying too hard to one up the previous film with the action and the movie is a bit too long. Either way you'll enjoy the movie overall and won't regret it.

3BG rating: 3.5 out of 5

kingsmanheader.jpg

Click here to subscribe to our show on Itunes!!!

You can also check us out on Stitcher Radio

We're also on SoundCloud and now IHeartRadio so now you have other options to listen to the show

Be sure to hit us up with those 5 star reviews on itunes

American Assassin

American Assassin is the typical action movie which is different from the vibe the trailers gave off. Michael Keaton and Dylan O'Brien do a pretty good job with there respective characters though O'Brien does tend to get one-dimensional at times. Sanaa Lathan is serviceable in her role. Same with Taylor Kitsch. The movie ultimately gets a bit tropey at times and you basically end up seeing where the film is going once the plot starts going. Its one of those movies that ultimately ends up being one of those "Waste the afternoon" type of films.

3BG score: 2 out of 5

American-Assassin-Trailer-Red-Band.jpg

Click here to subscribe to our show on Itunes!!!

You can also check us out on Stitcher Radio

We're also on SoundCloud and now IHeartRadio so now you have other options to listen to the show

Be sure to hit us up with those 5 star reviews on itunes

Posted on September 18, 2017 .

The Hitman's Bodyguard

Well this film turned out to be entertaining. There was so much that this movie could've did to shoot itself in the foot with the premise. The movie ultimately ends up working as an action comedy. Ryan Reynolds and Sam Jackson work real well together, Salma Hayek is the real MVP of the movie, and Gary Oldman acts his ass off as the main bad guy. Only downside to the film is that the tone ends up being all over the place. One minute its an action comedy romp then the film gets serious out of nowhere which tends to take you out the movie for a minute. Overall its a fun watch.

3BG rating: 3.5 out of 5

trailer-the-hitmans-bodyguard-696x464.jpg

Click here to subscribe to our show on Itunes!!!

You can also check us out on Stitcher Radio

We're also on SoundCloud and now IHeartRadio so now you have other options to listen to the show

Be sure to hit us up with those 5 star reviews on itunes

Dark Tower

Long story short, Idris and McConaughey give great performances but the story was lacking. They set up this interesting world but don't even fully explore it. Instead they tease it and leave you wanting to see and know more. If you're a Stephen King fan you'll be disappointed.

3BG rating: 2 out of 5

Click here to subscribe to our show on Itunes!!!

You can also check us out on Stitcher Radio

We're also on SoundCloud and now IHeartRadio so now you have other options to listen to the show

Be sure to hit us up with those 5 star reviews on itunes

Posted on August 4, 2017 .

Spiderman: Homecoming

After making his mark in Civil War, Spiderman is back with another solo movie but this time its set in the MCU. Homecoming is a very good title for this film because its indeed a big deal seeing Spiderman interact with his corner of the MCU. We finally get a Peter Parker dealing with legit high school stuff and it isn't glossed over. On top of that he's also dealing with a legit good villain in The Vulture. Overall this is a solid movie that puts the focus on Peter Park/Spiderman and his corner of the MCU world. 

3BG rating: 4.5 out of 5

Click here to subscribe to our show on Itunes!!!

You can also check us out on Stitcher Radio

We're also on SoundCloud and now IHeartRadio so now you have other options to listen to the show

Be sure to hit us up with those 5 star reviews on itunes

Transformers The Last Knight

Fives movies into this franchise and at least on the action Michael Bay has improved. Story wise? Not so much which is a shame cause The Last Knight had potential to be really good on that end. What we have is a movie thats decently entertaining but the addition of Marky Mark's personal subplot kills the main plot momentum. If you know what you're getting into with these Bay movies, you'll like it otherwise if it isn't your thing then don't watch it.

3BG rating: 2 outta 5

Click here to subscribe to our show on Itunes!!!

You can also check us out on Stitcher Radio

We're also on SoundCloud and now IHeartRadio so now you have other options to listen to the show

Be sure to hit us up with those 5 star reviews on itunes